OSU Department of Philosophy

Student Awards

June 2011

fun fotos from the ceremony, below

And the awards go to:

Best Undergraduate Essay in Religion  

Shawn O'Brien
Best Undergraduate Essay in Philosophy

Ayla Rogers
Best Graduate Essay in Philosophy

Jess Cox

Manuel Pacheco Award

for Excellence in the Study of Diversity and Social Justice

Doris Gonzalez

Ron Clarke Book Award

Charlotte Johnson

Peter C. List Award

for Excellence in the Study of Philosophy

Natalie Rich

Congratulations to everyone!



The stars of the event,
 as usual... the cupcakes

 stuffing face
Photog Blumenthal catches
Emcee Clough in an intimate moment


Professor Campbell
with Shawn o'Brien,

winner of the Hundere-sponsored
Religion Essay award



Professor Clough presents Ayla Rogers
with the Machette Foundation-sponsored
 Undergraduate Essay award
(Ms. Rogers won this award last year as well!)


Professor Roberts presents
Jess Cox with the
Machette Foundation-sponsored
Graduate Essay award.
(Ms. Cox won this award last year as well!)

Professor Joseph Orosco
presents Doris Gonzalez
with the Manuel Pacheco Award.



Professors Jim Blumenthal
Bill Uzgalis
Charlotte Johnson
with the Ron Clarke
Book Award.

Professor Flo Leibowitz
presents Natalie Rich
with the Peter List Award
for Excellence in Philosophy.


Return to top of page

Department of Philosophy