Mark Novak
Assistant Professor
mark.novak@oregonstate.edu
Office: Cordley Hall 3006
Lab: Cordley Hall 3009
Ph: (541) 737-3610
Lab ph: (541) 737-3120

 

Postdocs & Senior Associates

Alison Iles
Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellow
ilesa@science.oregonstate.edu

Community ecology, species interactions, allometry, climate change
Dan Preston

daniel.preston@oregonstate.edu

Freshwater ecology, disease ecology, species invasions, food webs, ecosystem functioning

 

Graduate students

Kyle Coblentz
NSF Graduate Research Fellow & Provost Fellow
kyle.coblentz@science.oregonstate.edu
Community Ecology and Dynamics; Interaction Strengths; Mathematical Modeling of Ecological Systems; Marine Invertebrate Ecology
Shannon Hennessey
NSF Graduate Research Fellow, Provost Fellow & ARCS Foundation Fellow
shannon.hennessey@oregonstate.edu
Marine invertebrate ecology; predator-prey interactions; eco-evolutionary responses to environmental variability; quantitative ecology
Zachary Randell
NSF Graduate Research Fellow
randellz@oregonstate.edu
Community structure and stability; predator-prey interactions; kelp forest ecology
Leah Segui
NSF Graduate Research Fellow & NSF GROW Fellow
seguil@science.oregonstate.edu
Community ecology; predator-prey interactions; energetics

 

Lab manager, Techs & Associates

Jeremy Henderson
Lab Manager
hendejer@onid.oregonstate.edu
Cordley 3008

Landon Falke
Research Technician
falkel@oregonstate.edu

Quantitative ecology; Aquatic food webs; Anthropogenic impacts and global change; Fisheries management and conservation
Daniel Gradison
Research Technician
gradisod@oregonstate.edu


Chris Wolf
PhD. student, Department of Statistics (Advisor: Alix Gitelman)
wolfch@science.oregonstate.edu
Predator-prey interactions; large carnivore ecology; conservation biology

 

Undergraduates

Tamara Layden
Zoology major with a minor in Chemistry
Predator-prey interactions; Food web ecology; Conservation biology
Stephanie Merhoff
Biology major with a Marine Biology option
Marine ecology; predator-prey interactions; invasive species
Jonathan Schwartz

Marine ecology; Animal behavior; Conservation biology

 

Alumni

Trevor Bark

Microbiology w/ minors in Chemistry and Actuarial Science
Alicen Billings
Natural Resources Watershed Management
Research Assistant
Julia Bingham
Duke University
PhD student: Marine Science and Conservation
Sensitive Barnacles: Quantifying life history processes of Pollicipes polymerus in Oregon to evaluate harvest potential
Kurt Ingeman

Postdoctoral Scholar
Hamza Moulvi

URSA Engage fellow, University Honors College, Biology Major
Complex networks in kelp forest ecosystems: Visualizing big data
Wendy Saepharn

Research Assistant
Isaac Shepard

University Honors College, Biology Major with Marine Biology Option
Beatriz Vaca

Research Technician